TimeLine Theatre Company  
Current SeasonTicketsDirectionsDonate
HomeThe CompanyProduction HistoryWork with UsContact Us
Our Mission
Company Members
Board of Directors
Associate Artists
Company History
Living History
Education Program
Awards & Recognitions
Our Supporters
Production History

PJ Powers
Company Member & Artistic Director

  PJ Powers

PJ was a co-founder of TimeLine 1997 and became Artistic Director in 1999.

During his tenure as Artistic Director, TimeLine has expanded its programming to include an annual subscription season of four plays, launched the TimePieces play reading series, nurtured the Living History Educational Outreach Program in Chicago Public Schools, and grown to employ more than 100 artists annually. PJ has overseen the production of more than 50 plays, including eight world premieres and 16 Chicago premieres. TimeLine has garnered 46 Jeff Awards, including eight for Outstanding Production.

A consistent record of artistic excellence has distinguished TimeLine. The company was named "Best Theatre" by Chicago magazine (2011) and was heralded nationally as "Company of the Year" by The Wall Street Journal (2010). In 2011, TimeLine was named "one of the nation's top 10 most promising emerging professional theatres" by the American Theatre Wing, founder of the Tony Awards®.

TimeLine's commitment to artistic excellence has been matched by astute management, which also has been recognized in the industry with the 2006 Alford-Axelson Award for Nonprofit Managerial Excellence of a small company and the 2009 Richard Goodman Strategic Planning Award in the Non-profit category from the Association for Strategic Planning.

PJ is a proud recipient of the 2008 Meier Achievement Award for mid-career artists.

While leading the artistic initiatives of TimeLine, PJ also continues to work as an actor, both at TimeLine and elsewhere. His TimeLine credits include THE FRONT PAGE, THE FARNSWORTH INVENTION, ALL MY SONS, FIORELLO!, WIDOWERS' HOUSES, COPENHAGEN, PRAVDA, PARAGON SPRINGS, HAUPTMANN (Non-Equity Jeff Award - Actor in a Principal Role, Play), NOT ABOUT NIGHTINGALES, HALYCON DAYS, THE SEAGULL, A CRY OF PLAYERS, GASLIGHT, NO END OF BLAME and SUMMIT CONFERENCE.

A graduate of the BFA Acting Program at The Theatre School at DePaul University in 1995, PJ also served for six years on the Board of Directors for the League of Chicago Theatres and has been featured three times in Newcity's articles listing "Chicago Theatre's 50 Leading Characters."

updated June 2012